CRICO MDs ONLY: Register to access your facesheet, and more.
spacer calloutfellowhsip
  • Yael Kushner, MD
  • Pathology, BIDMC

One-on-one site mentorship allows fellows to participate in hospital administration, community policy making, and personal projects with continuous and valuable input from senior leadership.

CRICO’s vision in funding this program was to expose clinicians to the nuances between risk, quality, and safety through the lens of malpractice. We hope to learn how to implement broad-reaching interventions that will have a dynamic impact on improving patient safety and quality.

CRICO’s Patient Safety and Quality Fellowship Alumni

CRICO has had many talented physicians come through the grant-funded fellowship program since its inception in 2012. We are proud of the national and international leadership roles these dedicated individuals have achieved since completion of the HMS Patient Safety & Quality Fellowship. For more information about the HMS Fellowship program, explore the main page.


As for our incredibly accomplished alumni fellows, we’re pleased to share “Where they are now...”


Class of 2016–2018 arrow_20px

  • Brittany Esty, MD, MPH
    Attending Physician in Allergy and Immunology,
    and Associate Director of Quality Improvement
    Division of Immunology, Boston Children’s Hospital
  • Matthew Germak, MD, MPH
    Medical Director of Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
    Beth Israel Deaconess HealthCare
  • Rajshri Mainthia, MD, MPH
    Chief Resident, Department of Surgery
    Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Nneka Nzegwu, DO, MPH
    Associate Director for Quality and Safety, Division of
    Neonatology; Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
    Georgetown University School of Medicine and Health Sciences

Class of 2015–2017 arrow_20px

  • Emily Aaronson, MD, MPH
    Assistant Chief Quality Officer
    Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Ann Murray, MD, MPH
    Assistant in Pediatrics
    Boston Children’s Hospital &
    Assistant Director of
    Pediatric Core Clerkship
  • Gene Quinn, MD, MPH
    Medical Director of Quality and Patient Safety
    Alaska Heart & Vascular Institute, Anchorage, AK
  • Chris Wong Quiles, MD, MPH
    Department of Pediatrics Hematology/Oncology,
    and Quality and Patient Safety
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorder Center

Class of 2014–2016 arrow_20px

  • Bijay Acharya, MD, MPH
    Hospital Medicine
    Massachusetts General Hospital
  • David Lucier, MD, MBA, MPH
    Director of Quality and Safety for Hospital Medicine
    Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Peter Najjar, MD, MBA
    Resident, Department of Surgery
    Brigham and Women’s Hospital
  • Marc Pimentel, MD, MPH
    Assistant Medical Director for Quality and Safety
    Brigham and Women’s Hospital
  • Melissa Sundberg, MD, MPH
    Director of Quality Improvement
    Boston Children’s Hospital
  • Jessica Zerillo, MD, MPH
    Director of Quality
    Beth Israel Deaconess Cancer Center

Class of 2013–2015 arrow_20px

  • Jeffrey Bruckel, MD, MPH
    Fellow, Division of Cardiology, Strong Memorial Hospital
    University of Rochester, New York
  • Kiran Gupta, MD, MPH
    Assistant Medical Director of Patient Safety
    University of California, San Francisco
  • Kate Humphrey, MD, MPH
    Site Director; Faculty, Division of Patient Safety & Quality
    Boston Children’s Hospital
  • Mary LaSalvia, MD, MPH
    Clinical Director, Infectious Diseases Division
    Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
  • Merranda Logan, MD, MPH
    Assistant Chief Quality Officer, Center for Quality & Safety
    Massachusetts General Hospital

Class of 2012–2014 arrow_20px

  • Yvonne Cheung, MD, MPH
    Chair, Department of Quality & Patient Safety
    Mount Auburn Hospital
  • Yael Kushner Heher, MD, MPH
    Director of QI & QA, Department of Pathology
    Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
  • Heather Tory, MD, MPH
    Associate Medical Director for QI & Patient Safety
    Connecticut Children’s Medical Center
  • Ian Zenlea, MD
    Assistant Professor, Department of Paediatrics
    Endocrinologist, Trillium Health Partners;
    Clinical Scientist, Institute for Better Health;
    Trillium Health Partners